Page 1 of 1

Using RawText on different execution pcs

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 11:13 am
by anja
Hi,

I've got a little Question about how to execute a solution on different pcs. We are using the testuite and the repository from Ranorex 3.1.2. One element could only be recognized via Raw Text Plugin. Now we've got the problem, that on an other PC the test fails because there the plugin is not correctly configured.

I found following code within this forum:

Code: Select all

using Ranorex.Plugin;
//To add the process name to the config
RawTextFlavor.Instance.ProcessNames.Add(new Regex("processname pattern"));
//To add the class name to the config 
RawTextFlavor.Instance.ClassNames.Add(new Regex("classname pattern"));
But it was not described, where this code should be added. Is there a possibility to make an own codemodule for this, which will be executed every time a test of the testsuite is executed?

Thank you

Re: Using RawText on different execution pcs

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:13 pm
by Support Team
Hi,

as the Raw Text Plug-In configuration is part of the general Ranorex configuration you can simply copy the file Ranorex3.config from one machine to the other to ensure that you have the same configuration on both machines.

The file Ranorex3.config can be found in your AppData folder: "%appdata%\RanorexConfig3.xml"

Regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Support Team

Re: Using RawText on different execution pcs

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:12 pm
by anja
Hi,

this is exactly what we do not want to do... if someone changes something in the config file (add new element to GDI Capture List) the file has to be updated on every other machine.
Our tests should be executed in multiple Virtual Machines sot this would be a very great effort....

I hope that there is another possibility...

Thank you in advance

Re: Using RawText on different execution pcs

Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2011 12:54 pm
by Support Team
Hi,

To easy copy the files to all machines you could use the XCOPY deployment.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/XCOPY_deployment

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team

Re: Using RawText on different execution pcs

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:11 am
by anja
Hi,

is no other possibility than using XCopy?

On the execution PCs (VmWare) we want execute the tests without installing Ranorex first, like it is described in following Forum-Post
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/feature-re ... t1969.html

Within this approach we do not have the Ranorex-Folders...

I really need a simple solution, based on C#Code how to set this property. I think the code snipped I posted within my fist post would do this... but I do not know where I have to put it exactly...

Thank you very much....
Anja

Re: Using RawText on different execution pcs

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2011 2:04 pm
by Support Team
Hi

If you have the dll files on your target machine, write the lines of code into the Program.cs main method (in a line before the TestSuiteRunner.Run(....)).

Hope this will solve your problem

Regards,
Martin
Ranorex Support Team

Re: Using RawText on different execution pcs

Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 1:22 pm
by anja
Hi,

thank you... I solved this problem with your help.... It works writing these lines of code within the program.cs....

I retried it to write these lines of code directly in the code-module where I access the rawtext element and this works now, too. I think within my previous try, there was an error in the regular expression...

Thanks....

Anja

Re: Using RawText on different execution pcs

Posted: Fri Dec 16, 2011 2:08 pm
by Support Team
Hi,

You're welcome!

Regards
Martin
Ranorex Support Team