Page 1 of 1

Running the same test across multiple applications

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 11:43 pm
by ajmarshall
Hey everyone.

I've recently been attempting to automate a process that is quite laborious. I'm attempting to enter data into a system that I don't have database access to, and must therefore enter the information through the UI. I am also only able to access the application through a remote desktop connection, such as Remote Desktop, Remote App, and Teamviewer.

All of the automation works fine in my test environment, but I am stuck at this last main hurdle - is there a way for me to run the same tests (which are linked to the "Remote Desktop" Windows application) across multiple applications? Ultimately, the application that I am testing through this Remote Desktop connection is the same every time, but how I am accessing it can vary.

To be more verbose, my tests need to access an application from various machines and through differing Remote Desktop clients, such as Teamviewer, Remote Desktop, and Microsoft's RemoteApp framework. However, I want to achieve this with one set of tests, as the application that is being accesses is always the same. Currently, the only Repo item is listed as a form that points to a Remote Desktop connected to a specific IP.

I know my way around C# quite well, so if there is a programmatic approach, I am able to implement it. The tests are also being run through a C# application (currently WinForms).

Any help is appreciated.

Re: Running the same test across multiple applications

Posted: Thu Oct 08, 2015 2:46 pm
by Support Team
Hello ajmarshall,

Unfortunately, Ranorex cannot identify elements within a remote desktop client because in this case the UI is only available as a picture.
For correct object recognition Ranorex needs to access the UI structure of the application.
I’m afraid the only reliable way in this case would be to execute the tests on the target machine.

It would be great if you could describe your use case in more detail.
I'm afraid I'm not exactly sure why it is necessary to test the AUT (application under test) through a remote desktop application.

Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Johannes

Re: Running the same test across multiple applications

Posted: Mon Oct 12, 2015 5:35 am
by ajmarshall
Support Team wrote:<snip>
Hello.

I am not "testing" so much as automating. And I need to only have access to the window, as my tests are Image-based, not Rx Path based. The only part that requires a path, is the window itself. I have somewhat figured this out by using a repository variable in the Window path ($FormTitle), but I still need to implement a way of getting the main window class of the Form. (Remote desktop has TscShellAxHostClass, whereas TeamViewer has it's own class)

Thanks for trying to help, though :)

Re: Running the same test across multiple applications

Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2015 2:48 pm
by Support Team
Hello ajmarshall,

Using the path editor it is possible to select the 'class'-attribute of the window.

In the sample below the 'class'-attribute is now part of the path.
ranorex_spy_path_editor.png
Now you should be able to create a repository variable for the 'class'-attribute.

More information on data-driven testing can be found in the User Guide.

Please let me know if you need further assistance.

Regards,
Johannes