Page 1 of 1

Flex Automation - questions

Posted: Thu Dec 18, 2014 2:21 pm
by Adrient
Hi,

I am using Ranorex 5.2.1.20894 to automate my Flex client testing.

There are some things I can't do and would need help with:
[*]I have component like Flex Charts containing Series (like PieSerie). Is it possible to read and test the items contained in it? I can use the getPropertyValue to read those "items" but I can only see the String representation of it. I would like to check the values of those items.
[*]I can't track the tooltips of my charts (datatip in fact). I've seen some topics about this and bug tickets. I tried to look for new window in the Spy tool and tried some tips like using the "T" while recording... But nothing works. Is it still a missing feature of your product?
[*]Is there any way to call custom function on custom components?

Thanks for your support.

Re: Flex Automation - questions

Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2014 3:38 pm
by Support Team
Hi Adrient,

I will try to address all your questions below:

Add 1: May I ask you to send us a small sample solution which includes such controls or at least a Ranorex snapshot file of those? Please also tell us the exact class name of your controls, or are these custom ones?
Add 2: Have you already tried all the suggestions listed here: Capture Flex tips?
Add 3: It should be possible to invoke the function when the custom component is identified by Ranorex. Have you tried to use the Invoke Action of the Ranorex Recorder?

Regards,
Markus

Re: Flex Automation - questions

Posted: Mon Dec 22, 2014 12:54 pm
by Adrient
Hi Markus,
  1. I sent an email to support at ranorex.com with the snapshot of the problematic object. It is highlighting a "mx.charts.series::PieSeries" object: help.adobe.com/en_US/FlashPlatform/reference/actionscript/3/mx/charts/series/PieSeries.html
  2. Indeed I tried those exacts ways. When I am caching (with the <SCROLL> key) the data I can't find my tooltip. The only issue maybe is that when caching it's only for my app dom. So if the tooltip would be out of that (as an extra window) then I could miss it. Is there any way to cache for the entire host?
  3. I don't have a specific example right now but I might want to try that.
Many thanks for your support.

Re: Flex Automation - questions

Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2014 10:52 am
by Support Team
Hi Adrien,

Thanks for the snapshot!
I also tried to track and search for the specific tooltip (DataTip) element with the sample of the provided link but without success.
It seems to be a painted element, I would therefore recommend to create a method which can be executed by Ranorex (by using the Invoke Action) which would return the specific values (as a string) which are also shown in the DataTip.
I will also forward this to the development team to analyze this issue in detail.

Regards,
Markus

Re: Flex Automation - questions

Posted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 3:52 pm
by Support Team
Hi Adrien,

We found a way to enable Ranorex to track these DataTip elements.
You could change the value of the "showAllDataTips" property to true to always show these DataTips since this would allow Ranorex to track all these elements as you can see here:
DataTipElements.png
You just need to add the "chart" element, in case of the sample of adobe, and use the Invoke Action -> SetPropertyValue to change the value of the "showAllDataTips" property as shown below:
SetPropertyValue.png
I hope this will help you to work around the issue.

Regards,
Markus