Page 1 of 1

Ranorex and ALM integration

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 6:04 am
by subodh4u7
Hi Experts,

I am stuck at one point , can anyone please help me.

I have used the following post for integration of Ranorex with ALM
http://www.ranorex.com/blog/running-ran ... ty-center/

However, a test case is passed in ALM even though test module is failed .

Can anyone please help me how to handle this part. i.e If a test module is failed , the test case status in ALM should be failed.

Re: Ranorex and ALM integration

Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2017 2:08 pm
by jma
Hi subodh4u7,

I would suggest having a look at the VAPI-XP-TEST script, which processes the result of the test run and populates the result in HP quality center.

According to the script the current test status will be set to "Failed" if the result of the executable test is unequal "0".

Code: Select all

If result <> 0 Or Err.Number <> 0 Then
   CurrentRun.Status = "Failed"
   CurrentTSTest.Status = "Failed"
End If
As long as you didn't modify this script I assume that in this case the executable test returned "0". If this information doesn't help you, please upload a compressed Ranorex Report of the failed test execution.

Re: Ranorex and ALM integration

Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 6:45 am
by subodh4u7
Thanks jma.

I have included the following script:
If result <> 0 Or Err.Number <> 0 or ERRORLEVEL <> 1Then
CurrentRun.Status = "Failed"
CurrentTSTest.Status = "Failed"
End If

But now even test case which are passing that's also updated as failed.

Do you have working test script which would help me.

Re: Ranorex and ALM integration

Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 3:00 pm
by jma
Hi subodh4u7,

The code sample from my previous post is from the corresponding Ranorex blog post about HP quality center. Please go through the whole blog post and use the VAPI-XP-TEST script from that blog: http://www.ranorex.com/blog/running-ran ... PI-XP-TEST

Re: Ranorex and ALM integration

Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:23 am
by subodh4u7
jma wrote:Hi subodh4u7,

The code sample from my previous post is from the corresponding Ranorex blog post about HP quality center. Please go through the whole blog post and use the VAPI-XP-TEST script from that blog: http://www.ranorex.com/blog/running-ran ... PI-XP-TEST

In my batch file:
D:
cd D:\automation\bin\Debug
Automation.exe /zr /zrf:Report.rxzlog

in my ranorex instance in ALM, I have set the following properties:
Path: D:\automation\bin\Debug
Args: /tc:test1
Executable: Automation.exe
Report File: Report.rxzlog

The parameters which are set in ALM is not being called since batch file is being run. I want to use the parameters which are set in ALM and automation should be running on the basis of these parameters only.

Can any one help me, what needs to be done.

Re: Ranorex and ALM integration

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 9:09 pm
by N612
I think I see your issue. The batch file should literally be the same as the blog post. Do not change any of the %# with the value you want in the batch file. These are just placeholders which are ultimately set by the parameters configured in ALM.

Code: Select all

cd %1
%2 /zr /zrf:%3 %4 %5 %6 %7 %8 %9
I hope this helps!

Re: Ranorex and ALM integration

Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 8:46 am
by subodh4u7
N612 wrote:I think I see your issue. The batch file should literally be the same as the blog post. Do not change any of the %# with the value you want in the batch file. These are just placeholders which are ultimately set by the parameters configured in ALM.

Code: Select all

cd %1
%2 /zr /zrf:%3 %4 %5 %6 %7 %8 %9
I hope this helps!

Thank a lot, it really worked.