Page 1 of 1

Multiple Test Suites in Solution

Posted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:39 pm
by Darwin
I'm trying to figure out the best way to organize our tests via Ranorex so we can have multiple suites executed at different times and/or for different purposes.

For example:
  • BVT Suite -- mission-critical suites -- executed nightly
    Acceptance Suite -- common primary and end-to-end scenarios -- executed 2-3x week
    Comprehensive Suite -- full test suite of all test cases, regressions, end-to-end, etc. -- executed once per week
    Other suites (perf, stress, etc.) -- executed on-demand
Is best practice with Ranorex to put multiple suites in the same solution, or to break them out into individual solutions?

If same solution, would multiple test suites in one solution allow for executing only a specific suite with the Ranorex remote agent?

If requiring multiple solutions, would they be able to share a repository so I don't have to maintain multiple repositories for UI changes?

Thanks for any feedback--I've been poring through forum entries to see possibilities, but haven't found a definitive topic to address this yet.

Re: Multiple Test Suites in Solution

Posted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 9:09 pm
by N612
Your test/solution architecture options range widely and there is no best option. It really depends on your team, test requirements, and environment.

Personally, I prefer to keep it simple and keep everything in one solution, in one project, in one test suite. I then organize my test suite using test containers. To execute specific portions of the test suite, I use run configurations.

If you do use multiple solutions/projects - you can share a single repository. The repository is a *.rxrep file in the project folder. Add it to a new project by right clicking your project name > Add > Existing Item.

I hope this helps!

Re: Multiple Test Suites in Solution

Posted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 10:49 pm
by Darwin
Thank you for the info on run configurations--that looks viable, and it appears I can use the "runconfig" parameter to execute just the particular tests I want, e.g.:

Code: Select all

KeePassTestSuite.exe /runconfig:SmokeTest
I will start experimenting with this... I'm definitely open to other suggestions, but this does look doable.

Re: Multiple Test Suites in Solution

Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 8:10 am
by Stub
Pretty much the same thing here. I keep our Installshield installation scripts in a separate test suite, but our main AUT tests all live together under a single TestSuite and I have a Development and TestRun run configuration. That way I can control what tests are run by our test machine when others are under development. We haven't yet go to the stage of the categories you describe.