Page 1 of 1

report level "Silence" possible for Smart Folders?

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2017 3:33 pm
by loonquawl
Hi.

I have a Smart Folder that contains actions that need to be taken *sometimes* - but that are not possible at other times. I'd like to set Report Level of "Silence" for this Folder, because it is not important whether or not the actions were takeable (it's just necessary to take them for the next steps). Is there a report level above "Failure", or is it possible to set it numerically to above 120 or whatever Failure is?

Re: report level "Silence" possible for Smart Folders?

Posted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 2:36 pm
by McTurtle
Hello loonquawl,

There is no such thing as report level "silence". I would suggest that you use report level "Failure". In this case, you will at least know why the test has failed. And if the actions were taken and they were successful, then nothing will be reported.

If you really want to do this, then you could convert your actions to code and delete the "Report..." line of code from the action or build this module in code altogether.

Regards,
McTurtle

Re: report level "Silence" possible for Smart Folders?

Posted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 3:56 pm
by krstcs
I would highly discourage silencing your tests. If they fail, you would have no way of knowing what the issue was. Setting the test to Report Level = Failure is the lowest I would go, as McTurtle suggested.

Re: report level "Silence" possible for Smart Folders?

Posted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 1:49 pm
by Vaughan.Douglas
Because it really isn't a good idea to silence your tests as others have mentioned and you've described yourself as programming impaired I won't outright give you a solution. BUT for educational purposes there may be a solution in this thread.

***Important Note***
That thread is very old and the names and locations of many of these less than documented internal use classes have been changed to mess up those of us who try to get too fancy with our custom programming. What I'm saying is that doing something like this may make your report look prettier, but it will cause headaches when maintaining the test suite in future releases of Ranorex.

You could be better off creating a custom report.

Re: report level "Silence" possible for Smart Folders?

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 10:56 am
by loonquawl
Just for documentations sake (btw. go and vote for better docs: https://uservoice.ranorex.com/forums/15 ... studio-api ):

I solved the problem by making the SmartFolder conditional. The cases where the actions inside the folder will be needed can be foreseen, and for every such case i gave a value in an extra column of the driving data source. The If-conditional in the Smartfolder now takes care of only starting the folder in the rows with that value.

Re: report level "Silence" possible for Smart Folders?

Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 3:29 pm
by krstcs
As Vaughan.Douglas pointed out, some of the API is not intended for external use by us users, but has to be declared as public in scope due to use by Ranorex internal functionality. Any features NOT DOCUMENTED IN THE API are for INTERNAL USE and should not be relied upon for tests.

I feel that the API documentation is fine the way it is because it only has the truly public functionality included.

Re: report level "Silence" possible for Smart Folders?

Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 1:56 pm
by Vaughan.Douglas
loonquawl wrote:Just for documentations sake (btw. go and vote for better docs: https://uservoice.ranorex.com/forums/15 ... studio-api ):

I solved the problem by making the SmartFolder conditional. The cases where the actions inside the folder will be needed can be foreseen, and for every such case i gave a value in an extra column of the driving data source. The If-conditional in the Smartfolder now takes care of only starting the folder in the rows with that value.
This is a good solution to your problem. As I've said before, I'm a huge proponent of using the features of the tool rather than trying to implement some custom solution. This often means settling for something that feels clunky and less than elegant, but it will probably save you a ton on the maintenance side. This is something I can attest to through personal experience.

As an aside, I do feel that Ranorex should document the internal use features and mark them as such in the documentation and in the intellisense.