Page 2 of 2

Re: Creating a new test suite?

Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2011 4:40 pm
by Support Team
Gunner1980 wrote:What benefits do I get if I use this approach?
As Alex said, smaller solutions and they are well-organized.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team

Re: Creating a new test suite?

Posted: Fri May 04, 2012 10:22 pm
by xrayspex
I have the same need as the original poster. I need to create a second test suite within a single solution. I have created a second project, but like the original poster I do not see an .rxtst file. How do I make one?

It appears the official answer to this is "Don't do that", which is not helpful. I see no obvious way to do this in Studio. Is there a non-obvious way?

Thanks,
Lisa

Re: Creating a new test suite?

Posted: Mon May 07, 2012 8:35 am
by Support Team
xrayspex wrote:I have the same need as the original poster. I need to create a second test suite within a single solution. I have created a second project, but like the original poster I do not see an .rxtst file. How do I make one?
Just like in the original answer: Just add another Test Suite project. Right click on the solution node in the Project tree view, select "Add -> New Project..." and make sure you select the "Ranorex C#/VB Test Suite" (NOT "Ranorex Test Suite Module Library") that resides in the the "C#" or "VBNet", respectively. That will add another test suite project containing a Ranorex Test Suite file to your solution.
You can then select the test suite project to execute by right clicking on the project and clicking on "Set as startup project".
xrayspex wrote:It appears the official answer to this is "Don't do that", which is not helpful. I see no obvious way to do this in Studio. Is there a non-obvious way?
The recommendation "Don't do that" (or "Can't do that") is just for having multiple test suites in one project. In general, the recommendation is not to have everything in one project/test suite, but separate different aspects into separate projects and solutions. That will speed up performance and alleviate team work.

The smaller, the better, which also means: the more files, the better :D

Usually, you would create separate projects contained in one solution if the projects use common resources and test one application or a common feature of the application. And you would create another solution for a different application or a different part of your application.
The same is true for Ranorex repositories: You should try to create small, separate repositories for every "page" of your UI, i.e. for a set of controls that logically belong together, e.g. a input form on a website. Then you can easily update your repository whenever the page changes or remove the repository if the page is deleted all together.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

Re: Creating a new test suite?

Posted: Mon May 07, 2012 6:29 pm
by xrayspex
Hi Alex,

Thanks for your help.

It turns out that I was continually adding Test Suite Module Libraries instead of plain Test Suites as the subfolder "Module" was selected by default when I was creating the new project. The "Module" folder name and icon label abbreviated to "Ranorex Test Suite Modu..." didn't suggest I was adding a new library.

I clicked up to the VBNet folder and found the plain Test Suite template and was able to add a project with an .rxtst file.

Making the top level C#/VBNet directory the default starting point when searching for a type of project to add might be an enhancement to think about to make this a bit clearer in the future.

Thanks,
Lisa

Re: Creating a new test suite?

Posted: Tue May 08, 2012 1:52 pm
by Support Team
Hi,
Making the top level C#/VBNet directory the default starting point when searching for a type of project to add might be an enhancement to think about to make this a bit clearer in the future.
We think the majority wants to create a Test Suite Module Library and not a Test Suite Project therefore we structured it in that way.

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team

Re: Creating a new test suite?

Posted: Thu May 07, 2015 8:02 am
by smitaninad
Hello Gunner1980 , If I understand your context clearly , you are in a need to have control on execution which is module Or application functionality wise..Is that right?
e.g If you have an application A which contains sets of test cases containing

Area1
Area2
Area3
..
so on
I am also into the same situation where in one solution I have say 30 different functionality areas and within each area "n" number of test cases , n being dependent on the area.

I want to give control to my different set of testers/developers to be able to execute each area separately as needed. e.g
Tester 1 - area1, area2
Tester 2 - Area3
Tester 3 - Area5, Area6 and so on

I am planning to have below solution

1. Create required number of solutions /projects for different applications ( top level )
2.Within each application , create all test cases and organize them in the Test Suite file using Folder concept , mapping each folder to each area , so suppose you have 50 areas , you have fifty folders , each covering say 100 test cases - so you have total 5000 test cases covered in one test suite file say application.rxtst
This becomes your main test case holder master suite file
3.Now depending on the requirements of testing - create configurations for the projects, which look below
Configuraiton1 -> Contains Area1 , Area2 - Test cases Selected
Configuration2 -> Contains Area 3

and so on.

Thus you have control over execution , single rxtst file maintains configurations and on the command line you can execute it as below

cmd>application.exe /config:Configuration1

See if it helps.

Re: Creating a new test suite?

Posted: Thu May 07, 2015 8:06 am
by smitaninad
As far as Library and Projects organization within the solution , we can keep a common library containing recordings / codes and application wise projects which contain the usage of the library .