Page 1 of 1

Ranorex shows same element visible in FF & invisible in IE?

Posted: Wed Feb 26, 2014 10:58 pm
by tgagel
Has anyone ever seen this before or have an idea on what is happening here? I have a test which works in Firefox but fails in Internet Explorer. In IE when the test tries to click some elements the cursor goes to the 0,0 top left of the screen position. When investigating via Ranorex Spy I see that several elements used in the test show as Visible = False in IE (see IE Spy.jpg) but are visible in Firefox (see FF Spy.jpg). I'm not sure why I'm getting these differing results.

The element is visible in the UI in IE. I also checked with our development team and the HTML is identical between the 2 browsers. Further, using Internet Explorer dev tools shows that these elements are visible (see IE Dev Tools.JPG) on the page, while spy does not.

Thanks.

Todd

IE Spy:
IE Spy.jpg
FF Spy:
FF Spy.jpg
IE Dev Tools:
IE Dev Tools.JPG

Re: Ranorex shows same element visible in FF & invisible in IE?

Posted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 3:36 pm
by Support Team
Hello Todd,

Each browser interprets HTML code differently. Ranorex just displays what the browser communicates to us. As a workaround I would suggest that you modify your RxPath as shown below:

Code: Select all

./select/option[@value=$YourValue]	
Instead of the mouse click please perform a “Set Value”-action which links to your Select-tag.
SetValueAction.png
$YourValue stores the elements of the drop-down menu.

Your test should now work on IE as well.

Regards,
Robert

Re: Ranorex shows same element visible in FF & invisible in IE?

Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 7:33 pm
by tgagel
Thanks for the reply. Using your suggestion I am able to get the item selected in IE. Unfortunately the click event isn't fired (selecting an element in the list is supposed to update the values in another list but isn't) using this technique.

Todd

Re: Ranorex shows same element visible in FF & invisible in IE?

Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 3:57 pm
by Support Team
Hello Todd,

You should be able to click the “OptionTag” after modifying the RxPath. Even if the elements are labeled as “invisible”.
var optiontag = repo.XXXXX.optionTag;
optiontag.Click();
Regards,
Robert