Page 1 of 1

Skip steps untill the end

Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 1:21 pm
by nielsverne
Hi, i've been busy with a couple of Ranorexes that fill in forms online to check our software. We use Access to generate random data every time we start a test and we run Ranorex from Access aswell. This works perfectly and i'm now trying to get a backofficecheck going. So each form we fill in generates a requestID, placed into an Excel, placed into Acces, to get used again in Ranorex.

Now when i start the backofficecheck it opens and closes our backoffice for every requestID generated which takes like 1minute per test. I want to be able to open our backoffice only with the first request ID and close it with the last one. But i want to do it without changing the data generated in Access.

Can you guys help me out doing this in Ranorex?

Niels 8)

Re: Skip steps untill the end

Posted: Mon May 04, 2015 7:08 am
by aravin
Hi nielsverne,

There are 2 way to solve this issue.

1. You can add "Set up" and "Tear down" methods in Testsuite.
(Right click Testsuite to add setup and teardown methods).

Where the setup will be called while initiating the testsuite execution and teardown will execute will exiting the testcase.

2. You can change the basepath of the application instead of opening application everytime.

example: Consider 2 app.
1. com.app1
2. com.app2

You can switch betwwen 2 application using the following sample code.

Code: Select all

...
...
basepath='/com.app1';
...
...
basepath='com.app2';

I suggest you to try the second method, that really work & reduce the time taken for test case execution.

Re: Skip steps untill the end

Posted: Mon May 04, 2015 7:14 am
by nielsverne
Thanks! :)

Re: Skip steps untill the end

Posted: Mon May 04, 2015 7:35 am
by aravin
Welcome :) :shock: