Page 1 of 1

Ranorex Test Runner Freezing in VM

Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 6:45 pm
by mtaylor
Well,

I hope someone out there can help me. I originally was on VirtualBox and started to notice that on Windows 10 VM my Ranorex Tests would randomly freeze in different places of the test suite.

The only way to progress was to manually intervene and this would require clicking in the VM and Clicking only on the Windows Icon in the bottom left of the Windows 10 OS. Nothing else would cause the test to proceed except for that. The other weird thing is that the Ranorex Test itself cannot even timeout. Something is directly interfering with the runner.

I read another forum on here that stated that moving to VMWare helped them. So inevitably I took the leap and ported over to VMWare. This solved my problem temporarily. However, now, I am in the same boat of my VM freezing randomly in Windows 10 and having to manually intervene. What gives? Is there any workaround?
Is it a windows process? Can it be my Jenkins JNLP connection? Please if someone has experienced this issue, please reply back...I'm getting desperate and hopeless that this isn't the solution for us.

Re: Ranorex Test Runner Freezing in VM

Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2016 7:15 am
by odklizec
I'm using VirtualBox on my work machine and I'm not experiencing problems you described. However, I'm using Win7 on that VM, so it's not quite the same. It could very well be a Win10 related issue? Anyway, how much RAM do you have allocated for this machine?

Re: Ranorex Test Runner Freezing in VM

Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:19 pm
by krstcs
Also, what version of Ranorex are you using? That is always an important piece of information and should always be included.

Re: Ranorex Test Runner Freezing in VM

Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2016 3:09 pm
by Aloha4321
I got the same problem. I'am working on VM (Windows 10) and the tests freeze in different place. The only way to progress is to click manually on the start program button. The test cannot even timeout ... :roll:

Re: Ranorex Test Runner Freezing in VM

Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2016 12:40 am
by mtaylor
Try this in the program.cs file under the test case or test suite uncomment the code

var osName = Host.Local.OSEdition.ToString();
if(osName.Contains("Windows 10") || osName.Contains("Windows 8"))
{
if (Util.IsRestartRequiredForWinAppAccess)
return Util.RestartWithUiAccess();
}

Re: Ranorex Test Runner Freezing in VM

Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 10:00 am
by Aloha4321
Thank you very much. it works very well.