Page 1 of 1

Support for command-line options for Remote test execution.

Posted: Mon May 16, 2016 7:10 pm
Hi ,

I was evaluating remote test execution support feature released as part of Ranorex 6.0 & found no support for command-line execution of remote tests.(command-line support for distributed execution could help easy integration with Jenkins or any other Continuous integration tools.)

Seems like currently we can run remote distributed tests only from Ranorex studio, please confirm.

Re: Support for command-line options for Remote test execution.

Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 12:32 am
by jbeeson
No response to this yet? I'm curious about this as well. I want to run a remote test and then run a local test that depends on what my remote device did and this seems like the most logical way to do it.

Re: Support for command-line options for Remote test execution.

Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 1:22 pm
by krstcs
Have you read the user manual? It clearly spells out how to use the command-line with Ranorex tests and specifically what each command-line switch does.

I use Jenkins all the time for remote testing with the Ranorex command-line and it works wonderfully, and it is what I recommend for true remote testing.

If you are having a problem that the user guide doesn't address, please explain it in detail.

The NEW Remote Agent functionality in Ranorex Studio is currently designed to be used from within Ranorex Studio. The Remote Agents can be called via API calls, but I'm not sure if those API calls are available for public use at this time.

Re: Support for command-line options for Remote test execution.

Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:44 pm
by tkuprat
We tried also the find out how we can call the remoting feature inside a test via API.
We tried to use the following:
var device_ret = RemoteServiceLocator.Service.GetByDisplayName("Test PC");
and
var device = RemoteServiceLocator.Service.AddDevice(
"Test PC",
RemotePlatform.Any,
RemoteConnectionType.WLAN,
"xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx");

The remote plattform seems to support only Android and iOS so far. Connection via WLAN is also not sufficient, due to cabled LAN.
Is there a way to call a test on a remoting client? May be also from command line executing the test on another PC?

Re: Support for command-line options for Remote test execution.

Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 3:10 pm
by Support Team
Hi tkuprat,

Welcome to the Ranorex Forum.

Unfortunately, we don't provide API to add Ranorex Agents. Please try adding the Ranorex Agents like described in our user guide.

The mentioned code sample refers to mobile devices and is not related to the new Ranorex Remote feature.

I would suggest having a look at our user guide, where the scope of this feature is described in detail.
I hope this information will help you.

Sincerely,
Johannes

Re: Support for command-line options for Remote test execution.

Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 10:55 am
by wyssmana
So if I understand correctly there is no way that I can tell the Ranorex Runner to run which configuration to run on which agent by command line?

Re: Support for command-line options for Remote test execution.

Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 11:36 am
by odklizec
Hi,

Yes, you got it right. There is currently no way to use Ranorex remote agents from command line. Ranorex remote test execution is primarily designed for use from Ranorex Studio GUI. For advanced (command line-based) remote test distribution and execution is better to use a dedicated CI system, like for example Jenkins, Bamboo and others. Hope this helps?

Re: Support for command-line options for Remote test execution.

Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 10:57 am
by Roy
Is it planned to add this Feature?
We are integrating Ranorex in our source Control and into the CI, but we don't want to run the Tests on the CI Server. Is there any other easy way to tell the Agent on an other virtual machine to run the Tests from the source Control Directory?

Re: Support for command-line options for Remote test execution.

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2017 3:00 pm
by Support Team
Hi everyone,

We were already in contact with Roy by email. Currently, there's no way to trigger the Ranorex Agent via command line, but there's an existing feature request on our User Voice Platform.

If anybody is interested in such a feature, please vote for this entry on the platform.

Thank you!

Johannes