Page 1 of 1

Ranorex 2.3.3 issue

Posted: Wed Jul 14, 2010 9:23 pm
by Brett
Hello,

We have been using Ranorex 2.3.1 for sometime now and we just recently decided to try out 2.3.3 due to the changes regarding combobox visibility. We didn't have any problems before with them before but after we installed the new version our tests no longer worked.

We have a combobox with about 200 or so cells in it. when I get the list item and attempt to click on it the mouse moves above the combobox and then clicks on nothing. This happened when the combobox is set to the center of the list. Once it goes past what the combobox is selected as then it will behave normally.

This issue also occurs with two list item comboboxs but its more evident with combo's holding more listitems.

OS: Windows XP

Re: Ranorex 2.3.3 issue

Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:37 am
by Support Team
Hi,

Please can you post me some additional information Thanks in advance

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Support Team

Re: Ranorex 2.3.3 issue

Posted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 4:54 pm
by Brett
Their is no error message that appears, the program acted like it clicked the list item.
I cant give you a screenshot unfortunately, but the list item to click was found by:

ListItem listItem = MyComboBox.FindSingle<ListItem>
("listitem[@text='" + ElementValue + "']");

And the RxPath of the combobox:

"/form[@automationid='XXX']/tabpagelist/tabpage[@name='XXX]/tabpagelist/tabpage[@name='XXX']/element/element[@automationid='XXX']/element[@automationid='XXX']/element[@automationid='XXX']/combobox[@automationid='comboBox']";

Re: Ranorex 2.3.3 issue

Posted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 1:48 pm
by Support Team
The problem seems to be that Ranorex believes the ListItem is already visible and therefore does not try to make it visible before clicking it. The reason is that the underlying technology (UI Automation) reports the items to be visible at all time if the ComboBox drop down list is visible.

There are two possible workarounds:
1. Try to use following code to make the correct list item visible and thereby clickable:
item.EnsureVisible();
item.Focus();
item.Click();
2. Actually use the list items corresponding to the ComboBox drop down list (popup window). You get the path for those items when you Instant Track the items when the drop down list is visible. For those items Ranorex can correctly evaluate whether they are visible or not, consequently EnsureVisible will work for those items.
However, in order to click on the item, you have to make sure the the drop down is visible by clicking on the drop down button.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

Re: Ranorex 2.3.3 issue

Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 7:01 pm
by Brett
Thanks! That did it!