Page 1 of 1

Ranorex takes always the default platform

Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2016 10:03 am
by Geci
Hello,

our Ranorex project has references to our project, for example "C:\Users\XXX\Project\UI\UI.csproj". This project has following settings:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Project DefaultTargets="Build" xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/developer/msbuild/2003" ToolsVersion="4.0">
  <PropertyGroup>
    <ProjectType>Local</ProjectType>
    <ProductVersion>8.0.50727</ProductVersion>
    <SchemaVersion>2.0</SchemaVersion>
    <ProjectGuid>{3AEEA3D9-5EA4-45EC-9F57-AA47398450DB}</ProjectGuid>
    <SccProjectName>
    </SccProjectName>
    <SccLocalPath>
    </SccLocalPath>
    <SccAuxPath>
    </SccAuxPath>
    <SccProvider>
    </SccProvider>
    <Configuration Condition=" '$(Configuration)' == '' ">Debug</Configuration>
    <Platform Condition=" '$(Platform)' == '' ">anyCPU</Platform>
    <ApplicationIcon>UI.ico</ApplicationIcon>
    <AssemblyKeyContainerName>
    </AssemblyKeyContainerName>
    <AssemblyName>UI</AssemblyName>
    <AssemblyOriginatorKeyFile>Key.keys</AssemblyOriginatorKeyFile>
    <DefaultClientScript>JScript</DefaultClientScript>
    <DefaultHTMLPageLayout>Grid</DefaultHTMLPageLayout>
    <DefaultTargetSchema>IE50</DefaultTargetSchema>
    <DelaySign>false</DelaySign>
    <OutputType>WinExe</OutputType>
    <RootNamespace>UI</RootNamespace>
    <RunPostBuildEvent>OnBuildSuccess</RunPostBuildEvent>
    <StartupObject>
    </StartupObject>
    <FileUpgradeFlags>
    </FileUpgradeFlags>
    <UpgradeBackupLocation>
    </UpgradeBackupLocation>
    <SignAssembly>true</SignAssembly>
    <TargetFrameworkVersion>v4.0</TargetFrameworkVersion>
    <OldToolsVersion>2.0</OldToolsVersion>
    <TargetFrameworkProfile />
    <PublishUrl>publish\</PublishUrl>
    <Install>true</Install>
    <InstallFrom>Disk</InstallFrom>
    <UpdateEnabled>false</UpdateEnabled>
    <UpdateMode>Foreground</UpdateMode>
    <UpdateInterval>7</UpdateInterval>
    <UpdateIntervalUnits>Days</UpdateIntervalUnits>
    <UpdatePeriodically>false</UpdatePeriodically>
    <UpdateRequired>false</UpdateRequired>
    <MapFileExtensions>true</MapFileExtensions>
    <ApplicationRevision>0</ApplicationRevision>
    <ApplicationVersion>1.0.0.%2a</ApplicationVersion>
    <IsWebBootstrapper>false</IsWebBootstrapper>
    <UseApplicationTrust>false</UseApplicationTrust>
    <BootstrapperEnabled>true</BootstrapperEnabled>
  </PropertyGroup>
  <PropertyGroup Condition=" '$(Configuration)|$(Platform)' == 'Debug|x86' ">
    <DebugSymbols>true</DebugSymbols>
    <OutputPath>bin\x86\Debug\</OutputPath>
    <DefineConstants>DEBUG;TRACE</DefineConstants>
    <BaseAddress>285212672</BaseAddress>
    <AllowUnsafeBlocks>false</AllowUnsafeBlocks>
    <DebugType>full</DebugType>
    <PlatformTarget>x86</PlatformTarget>
    <ErrorReport>prompt</ErrorReport>
  </PropertyGroup>
</Project>
In Ranorex the build settings are x86 and Debug. The problem is now that Ranorex takes always the default platform and this is anyCPU and not Debug|x86. Therefore the OutputPath is wrong...

Best regards
GeCi

Re: Ranorex takes always the default platform

Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 12:54 pm
by Support Team
Hi GeCi,

Unfortunately, I'd need additional information to analyze this problem in more detail.
May I ask you if you could send me a copy of your project to [email protected]?
This would allow me to see what exactly is happening.

Please also let me know which version of Ranorex you are currently using.

Thank you in advance.
Regards,
Markus (S)

Re: Ranorex takes always the default platform

Posted: Wed Aug 10, 2016 9:09 am
by Geci
I send you an example.

Re: Ranorex takes always the default platform

Posted: Wed Sep 14, 2016 10:58 am
by Support Team
Hi All,

Geci and I have analyzed this behavior and it seems that the issue is an expected behavior from MSBuild.
This problem can also be reproduced using Visual Studio and I'm afraid there is nothing we can do to overcome this.

Thank you for your understanding.

Regards,
Markus (S)