Wait for action is inefficient

Bug reports.
lkovacsik

Wait for action is inefficient

Post by lkovacsik » Wed May 09, 2018 10:16 am

Hello,
I am new in Ranorex, however I am afraid behavior of Wait for action is incorrect.

The situation is as follows:
1. Software Under Test is started
2. SUT opens a database file
3. Database file should be upgraded by SUT ocdassionally, in this case confirmation is given in a dialog box
4. Database file is saved
5. SUT is closed

Processing times of open, upgrade, save processes are very long in case of great database files, and meantime maybe application is not responding. Therefore I tried to use Wait for actions with a long (3m) timeout.

My experience is that execution is continued before wait timeout is expired. The result is that execution is stopped randomly in case of great database files.

Since time of those long processes is always under 1.5 minute I made several trials, each with 3 minutes as Wait timeout value:
Wait for Exist,
Wait for AttributeContains Visibility is Visible,
Wait for AttributeNotContains AppHung is True,
Wait for AttributeNotContains Text "(not responding)"
Wait for AttributeContains Title is <variable of test case>

Moreover I tried to combine these Wait for actions by enabling continue on fail. By this way I could handle some great databases but I did not find in general a correct resolution of the problem: Wait timeout is not awaited in those cases. If continue on fail is not enabled, test run is terminated by "Exception of type 'Ranorex.ApplicationNotRespondingException' was thrown."

Last time test run was terminated because Wait for existing TitleBar was unsuccessful. Elapsed time between Waiting for and Error is no more than 6 seconds while 3 minutes is defined as Waiting time! (See attachment.) The actions after Save are attached too.

My device specifications are:
Intel(R) Core(TM) ir CPU 760 @ 2.80GHz
16.0 GB RAM,
SSD
Windows 10 Pro version 1709, OS Build 16299.371