Warning message "Variables not bound"

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
HansSchl
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:05 am

Warning message "Variables not bound"

Post by HansSchl » Thu Jan 02, 2020 4:11 pm

Hi,

Ranorex warns me "The following module variables in module '...' are not bound to a data column: ...". I googled for the reason and found it related to data-driven testing, which isn't what I am doing here. In fact these variables are filled at run time with values that are calculated by user code. (I believe this is called "validation variable" in Ranorex speak.) All variables are defined in the "Edit variables" dialog and have proper default values.

What else do I have to do to do away with this warning?

Edit: Ranorex version 9.2.0.

Thanks
Hans

foals11
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 9:19 am

Re: Warning message "Variables not bound"

Post by foals11 » Fri Jan 03, 2020 10:26 am

Hi,

These warnings appear when you use module variables, but don't bind them to a data connector or parameter (data-driven testing).
If your test gets executed as expected, you don't have to worry about these warnings.

regards,

HansSchl
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:05 am

Re: Warning message "Variables not bound"

Post by HansSchl » Fri Jan 03, 2020 12:57 pm

you don't have to worry about these warnings.
Out of habit, I always worry about warnings. The code I write has zero warnings before I submit it for production. :) By removing warnings from test cases I prevent the test department from repeatedly asking me about the warning :lol:
Ok, then, how can I change the "module variable" into something else that doesn't produce a warning?

McTurtle
Posts: 292
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:37 am
Location: Benedikt, Slovenia

Re: Warning message "Variables not bound"

Post by McTurtle » Fri Jan 03, 2020 1:24 pm

Hi Hans,

You can disable the warning for each test case in the properties of the test case:
TestCaseproperties.png
TestCaseproperties.png (14.47 KiB) Viewed 128 times
Does this help?

Regards,
McTurtle

HansSchl
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:05 am

Re: Warning message "Variables not bound"

Post by HansSchl » Fri Jan 03, 2020 5:12 pm

Yes, this might help, but I don't know how to open this "properties" dialog. I tried this: Right-click the test case in the "Projects" window, then click "Properties" from the menu. That opens test case properties that do not even remotely resemble your screen shot.
2020-01-03_17h07_08.png
2020-01-03_17h07_08.png (15.24 KiB) Viewed 125 times
Or: open "Properties" from the View menu but that doesn't contain this option either.
2020-01-03_17h08_14.png
2020-01-03_17h08_14.png (10.97 KiB) Viewed 125 times
I must be missing something crucial...

Thanks anyway
Hans

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5776
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Warning message "Variables not bound"

Post by odklizec » Fri Jan 03, 2020 6:49 pm

Hi,

What you have right-clicked is “Project” node. But you must go to “Test Suite” view and here right-click every single Test Case Container and its Properties uncheck the option suggested by McTurtle. There is unfortunately no global option for this warning.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

HansSchl
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:05 am

Re: Warning message "Variables not bound"

Post by HansSchl » Tue Jan 07, 2020 9:15 am

Hi odklizec,

thank you for your reply. This actually did the trick. No warnings anymore :-)
Happy new year!

Hans