Way to specify report folder?

Ask general questions here.
User avatar
Gunner1980
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Austin, Texas

Way to specify report folder?

Post by Gunner1980 » Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:31 pm

I would like to change where my reports are saved as I don't want them all piling up in my root directory with the test suite. I would like to save all reports to a Reports folder. I tried to append the report filename through the GUI by typing Reports/ in front of the filename but it gives me an error saying the report file name cannot contain /. How do I change the reports folder?

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Way to specify report folder?

Post by Ciege » Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:39 pm

In another post you mentioned that you do use a shared framework of code. In that framework you can create (as I do) a Report Setup Method. This method (in my case) takes 2 parameters, 1 - Report Name and 2 - Base Folder (like C:\Temp\Reports).
The method creates a new folder under that passed in base that is a unique date/time stamp appended to the report name, then under that new folder creates the report, also appended with a date time stamp.

Then, all of my test cases call this Report Setup method at the beginning of their test to get a uniquely name folder structure and report name every iteration of the test.

You can have your method setup any way you like to support your needs for a reporting structure.
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

User avatar
Gunner1980
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Way to specify report folder?

Post by Gunner1980 » Tue Apr 12, 2011 5:51 pm

Yeah I can use the code but they created a GUI for specifying report names, but I didn't want to do it through the code if the GUI supported this via a menu I don't know about yet.

And if I do still do it through the code does it update the test suite properly or am I going to have settings overriding each other since you can specify the report name in report.setup and in the GUI of the test suite.

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Way to specify report folder?

Post by Ciege » Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:04 pm

Gunner1980 wrote:And if I do still do it through the code does it update the test suite properly or am I going to have settings overriding each other since you can specify the report name in report.setup and in the GUI of the test suite.
Don't know the answer to that...

I prefer to keep everything in code so I have as much flexibility as possible and because I use Visual Studio to do all my developing.
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Way to specify report folder?

Post by Support Team » Tue Apr 12, 2011 6:10 pm

Hello,

current plan is to make the report output folder configurable in the settings of the test suite in 3.1,
which is expected for June.

Regards,
Roland
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

User avatar
Gunner1980
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Way to specify report folder?

Post by Gunner1980 » Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:07 pm

Ok Thanks, if I specify the report folder through code can I continue to use the GUI to specify the report naming conventions or will they overwrite each other?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Way to specify report folder?

Post by Support Team » Mon Apr 18, 2011 10:36 am

Actually, calling the TestReport.Setup method in code will not help, because the test suite will call that method again when started. You can, however, open the rxtst file and edit the "reportfilename" attribute of the test suite tag. The downside is that from then on you cannot edit the properties of the test suite node any more from the UI, because the UI won't let you save your changes.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team
.
Image