What automation tool to use

Experiences, small talk, and other automation gossip.
craigmachaffie
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 2:58 pm

What automation tool to use

Post by craigmachaffie » Mon Aug 30, 2010 6:54 pm

I'm currently researching two black box testing tools for my company--Ranorex and Eggplant.

A problem I have noticed in testing our program with Ranorex is that it does not correctly capture images (via the validate command during recording) of our X Windows (exceed)--it only captures solid bars of colors instead of the actual button bevels and text. If Ranorex does not support X-Windows, then I was wondering if there is a known workaround. For example, I was considering simulating a print-screen command (which would capture the image fine) and creating a small library of functions for working with the printscreened images. I'm not sure if it would be worth the effort, or even feasible, though.

I'm looking for a recommendation on how to proceed--I can try to make ranorex work with something that it is incompatible with, or i can use eggplant and have slower tests. If anyone has experience working with both of these tools, I'd love to hear your take on this.


In case you don't know what exceed is: http://connectivity.opentext.com/produc ... ducts.aspx

craigmachaffie
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 2:58 pm

Re: What automation tool to use

Post by craigmachaffie » Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:30 pm

It'd be great if someone has information about using Ranorex with Exceed X-windows. This is the only stumbling point so far. The software I'm testing is a win32 application so i thought Ranorex would be able to interact with objects in an X-window--or at least be able to take screenshots.

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: What automation tool to use

Post by Ciege » Thu Sep 23, 2010 7:05 pm

I have a feeling that if you haven't received any reply about this yet then probably no one is using Ranorex with Exceed X-Windows.

Is Exceed an x-windows simulator? Do objects actually exist in Exceed or is everything just painted (kind of like an RDP session). It may be (probably) that everything is just one big image where no objects actually exist thus no automation utility will be able to examine the AUT.
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...