Whole site validation

Ask general questions here.
Kaalell

Whole site validation

Post by Kaalell » Wed May 04, 2016 10:23 am

Hi! I'm new to Ranorex and been testing it as much as possible these last few days. My idea for the use of Ranorex was to compare a Webbsite with and updated version of it. There are no visual changes being made here just backend, but! There could be visual changes to the updated versoin that arn't supposed to happen, that's where (i hope) Ranorex takes over. For now before the updated version "goes live", I'm testing this by hand with the help of an protocoll with 100+ tests. So I've been testing the validation-attribut in Ranorex and wondering if there is any way you could compare a whole page instead of specific details? I've tried marking the whole page with Validate but it takes in everything in the background aswell, such as my desktop etc..
Best Regards

CookieMonster
Certified Professional
Certified Professional

Re: Whole site validation

Post by CookieMonster » Wed May 04, 2016 1:18 pm

Hi Kaalell,

Why are you not saving the HTML Page therefore you can use the DOM Element of Ranorex and create a snapshot or just save the GetHtml as text in a file and compare the files automatically, with a diff result?
Use the API of DiffTool and then you can integrate this in Ranorex Studio if you want and or combined this with GUI tests.
But to help you in a more specific way, we need a bit more to know about the SUT.

Regards
Dan

Kaalell

Post by Kaalell » Wed May 04, 2016 1:49 pm

I see now that in my first post I was a bit unclear, Im sorry for that.
I'll describe an example instead!: