Why are some test steps not running?

Ask general questions here.
Fergal
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Co Louth, Ireland
Contact:

Why are some test steps not running?

Post by Fergal » Fri Feb 12, 2021 6:26 pm

Ranorex 9.3.2 Windows 10

I have a Ranorex test suite with a hierarchy like this:

Test Suite > Smart Folder > Test Cases > Smart Folders > recording modules

There is a validation module in this test suite that is running fine in all Test Cases except one. In the problem test case only the first step in the validation module runs. The remaining steps don't run, the test passes but only the first step in the validation module runs.

The steps that are not running are steps to:

Wait for document loaded
Get a value from the app
Report that value

The module runs fine when it is run on its own and when it is run in all test cases except one.

Are there any known reasons for test steps not to run?

Thanks

User avatar
Stub
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:35 pm

Re: Why are some test steps not running?

Post by Stub » Mon Feb 15, 2021 8:56 am

Conditions on a folder or folders marked not to run? I sometimes use a CM a dynamically UNcheck child folders, to programatically disable test segments, but that's obviously more deliberate.

Fergal
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Co Louth, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Why are some test steps not running?

Post by Fergal » Mon Feb 15, 2021 12:43 pm

Thanks for your reply Stub. Some smart folders in the parent test case do have conditions. However, there are no conditions on the test case and there are no conditions on the smart folder that contains the module that is not running correctly. Also the first step in the problem module is running correctly, but the subsequent steps are not running. I did have a feeling that the issue might be related to a condition, but can't see how any condition could be impacting on those non-running steps.

Fergal
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Co Louth, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Why are some test steps not running?

Post by Fergal » Thu Feb 18, 2021 11:41 am

This is still an issue in my test suite. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks

rastek
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 12:00 pm

Re: Why are some test steps not running?

Post by rastek » Sun Feb 21, 2021 12:50 pm

sometime we have similar issue. Ranorex stops in the middle of the test without any report or error, totaly unknown

Fergal
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Co Louth, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Why are some test steps not running?

Post by Fergal » Thu Mar 04, 2021 3:32 pm

Thanks for your reply rastek , has this been resolved for you?

eldorado25
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2019 4:14 pm

Re: Why are some test steps not running?

Post by eldorado25 » Wed Mar 10, 2021 2:38 pm

Hi,

this tends to occur super randomly for me.

the solution that tends to work for me is either:
re-doing the repository element - so deleting it and re-inputting it
or
re-do the steps again by deleting the initial ones and re-writing (pasting won't work for some reason)

It is a hassle - I would raise a bug about it but it's just too random to narrow down.