Windows 7: Control identification

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
Marianne Jacobsen
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 1:18 pm

Windows 7: Control identification

Post by Marianne Jacobsen » Thu Jul 08, 2010 10:58 am

Hi

We're just recently installed Windows 7 on a number of machines. It seems that there is a difference in how Ranorex recognizes controls - is this true? or are we doing something wrong?

Highlighted is the same control in our AUT both on Windows 7 and Windows XP - notice how the expressions are totally different.



How do I solve this?
Attachments
SpyWinXP-32bit.JPG
SpyWinXP-32bit.JPG (103.55 KiB) Viewed 1383 times
SpyWin7-64bit.JPG
SpyWin7-64bit.JPG (164.96 KiB) Viewed 1383 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Windows 7: Control identification

Post by Support Team » Thu Jul 08, 2010 12:37 pm

Hi,

It seems to be a 64 Bit problem. Please, can you post me which version of Ranorex is in use?
And please take a look to our documentation about Ranorex on 64-Bit-Platforms
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... forms.html

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

Marianne Jacobsen
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 1:18 pm

Re: Windows 7: Control identification

Post by Marianne Jacobsen » Thu Jul 08, 2010 12:56 pm

We're using Ranorex 2.3 - but I see now that there is a Ranorex 2.3.3. I'll try to install that version. I had the understanding that Ranorex versions after 2.3 should handle 64bit automatically - this is not how it's done?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Windows 7: Control identification

Post by Support Team » Thu Jul 08, 2010 1:23 pm

Hi,

Yes you are right. Versions V2.3 and above handle the 32/64 Bit automatically with the Ranorex Bit Bridge. A possible cause could be a security issue. Is it possible that your software is placed in an encrypted folder or on a network share? Are both executables - the application under test and the automating application - launched with the same user rights?

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

Marianne Jacobsen
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 1:18 pm

Re: Windows 7: Control identification

Post by Marianne Jacobsen » Thu Jul 08, 2010 2:09 pm

I've installed Ranorex 2.3.3 but problem persists. In the recorder I can see that bridging is enabled.

Launched both AUT and RanorexSpy with "Run as Administrator" and I've also made sure to run the RanorexSpy.exe and not the x86 version.

Both AUT and Ranorex is installed in a normal folder (standard Program Files location) on the local harddrive.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Windows 7: Control identification

Post by Support Team » Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:24 pm

Hi,

Please, can you check if you get the elements with the x86 Spy?
Have you restarted your application after installing the new version of Ranorex?
Would it be possible to send us or post an example application with the same behavior, because we are too working on Windows 7 x64 and we cannot observe such a behavior.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

J-Loup
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:44 am

Re: Windows 7: Control identification

Post by J-Loup » Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:56 am

Any news about this problem ? I had the same issue when i tried to run my tests developped under Win7 on a WinXP PC. I've checked with Spy, the object identification is completely different !

cheers

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Windows 7: Control identification

Post by Support Team » Thu Jul 14, 2011 3:52 pm

Hi,

Which Ranorex version are you using? Can you give us some more information about your application under test?
Which application are you testing and have you considered all the steps which Peter mentioned?
Can you send us two Ranorex snapshots of your AUT (XP and Win7)?
If you don't want to post it to the forum you can send it to our support email address: [email protected]
Are you sure that the systems are "equal", I mean for instance that you have installed the same .Net version on both systems?


Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image