Windows Config Compatibility

Ask general questions here.
csolanki
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 8:51 am

Windows Config Compatibility

Post by csolanki » Fri May 18, 2018 1:03 pm

Hi Team,

I would like to know does config affects the efficiency of Ranorex in any case.

If I am using below config, I am facing object spy problems. Is it the case with config, because app I am testing is webapp.

OS : Windows Server 2016,Xeon (R),@2.40 GHz.
RAM: 4GB

On the contrary, when I am using

OS : Windows 10, i5, 2.40Ghz,
RAM: 8GB

it works all good.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3908
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Windows Config Compatibility

Post by odklizec » Mon May 21, 2018 2:44 pm

Hi,

What exactly is your problem with Spy on windows server machine? I'm using Ranorex on Windows server (2012 R2 4GB RAM) and I'm experiencing no issue neither with Spy or Ranorex itself. In contrary, Ranorex works way better than on my physical machine with Win 10 and 8GB RAM ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

csolanki
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 8:51 am

Re: Windows Config Compatibility

Post by csolanki » Tue May 22, 2018 10:11 am

Hey,

I am using windows server on AWS machine (JFI). So, when I tried to spy on objects, I am not able to see red colour hover which generally will be present while recording and If I am trying to run already build scripts, it is able to identify the element but not able to click on it.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3908
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Windows Config Compatibility

Post by odklizec » Tue May 22, 2018 10:47 am

OK, I guess the problem with mouse clicks happens while you are connected via Remote Desktop? At first, try to enable Turbo Mode for the problematic recordings. At second, throw away the Remote Desktop and try to use something else (like vnc or ASG Remote Desktop). MS RD sucks and it makes things worse when it comes to TA. Hope this helps? ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration