WPF Identification

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
floolf
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 1:49 pm

WPF Identification

Post by floolf » Mon Jan 22, 2018 12:09 pm

Hello,
I am having some trouble in WPF objects identification (Ranorex 7.2.0 - Windows 10)
Can you explain me the behaviour of the tracker :
In my repository, I have an object 'Operation', and I modify the path. I don't modify anything else

1 - Path : .//link[@helptext='Opération'], Edit => One element found
2 - In the Edit form, I change watch the "Browser and Result" tab , I see 2 containers in the path between my folder et my object
img2.png
browser and results
img2.png (54.44 KiB) Viewed 421 times
3 - I modify the path in the edit form : container/container/link[@helptext='Opération'] => One élément found
4 - Apply, Edit the same element : 3 éléments found
5 - Refresh : 1 element found
6 Apply/Edit 3 elements found, Refresh, 3 elements found


Thanks for your time

floolf

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3921
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: WPF Identification

Post by odklizec » Mon Jan 22, 2018 12:21 pm

Hi,

Could you please post a Ranorex snapshot (not screenshot) of the problematic element? Without (at very least) snapshot, there is not much anyone here can do or suggest.

At next, Ranorex 7.2.0 is somewhat old and no longer supported. Please update Ranorex with Ranorex 7.2.1 or 8.0 and check the behavior again.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

floolf
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 1:49 pm

Re: WPF Identification

Post by floolf » Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:02 pm

My Snapshot is to heavy (1,8 M) to be uploaded
Can I send it by mail ?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3921
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: WPF Identification

Post by odklizec » Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:03 pm

Just use a public file sharing service (OneDrive, DropBox, etc...) and here post a link. Thanks.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

floolf
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 1:49 pm

Re: WPF Identification

Post by floolf » Mon Jan 22, 2018 4:12 pm


User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3921
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: WPF Identification

Post by odklizec » Wed Jan 24, 2018 9:05 am

Hi,

I see nothing wrong in the snapshot you uploaded. There seems to be just one "Operation" element in the snapshot? So if you are getting more elements, please try to save snapshot again with multiple "Operation" elements. But in my opinion, if Spy returns multiple elements, the elements are most probably in GUI?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

floolf
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 1:49 pm

Re: WPF Identification

Post by floolf » Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:50 am

Hello,

I checked other snapshots I had and always found one element.

I have a question : I did not change anything concioulsly on my side, but does the edit/apply/refresh in Ranorex Spy send anything to server ?
Is it possible that load balancing on server induce my recognition problems ?

Thanks for your time

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: WPF Identification

Post by Support Team » Thu Jan 25, 2018 10:32 pm

Hi floof,

Spy does not send anything to a server. When opening/applying/editing/refreshing Spy, it is reading the AUT's elements again to ensure you are working with the current element and not a stale one.

If possible, please provide a Ranorex Snapshot from when it is returning three elements. This will help us compare the differences and the potential cause of this odd behavior.

I look forward to your response!

Cheers,
Ned
.
Image