WPF Plug-in Error Message

Ask general questions here.
Fergal
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Co Louth, Ireland
Contact:

WPF Plug-in Error Message

Post by Fergal » Wed Jan 27, 2016 6:00 pm

[Ranorex 5.4.4 on Windows 7]

My WPF Plug-In settings look like this:

Image

And I am seeing the error below when testing a POS application.
You are accessing WPF elements via the UIA plug-in. UI element identification capabilities for this window are limited. Consider using the native WPF plug-in.
Is there anything I can do to resolve this?

Thanks!

lucian.teodorescu
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 10:58 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: WPF Plug-in Error Message

Post by lucian.teodorescu » Thu Jan 28, 2016 8:37 am

Hi Fergal,

Could you please post some info about your AUT?
I am asking because I faced a similar problem a few days ago with web elements.

Long story short, it turned out that while in safe-mode (incognito) the browser's plugins (including Ranorex) were disabled. After I've enabled them everything worked as expected.

Cheers,
Lucian Teodorescu
NetSun Software

Fergal
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Co Louth, Ireland
Contact:

Re: WPF Plug-in Error Message

Post by Fergal » Thu Jan 28, 2016 10:14 am

Hi Lucian, the AUT is a client's, Windows based POS, it is not run through a browser.